Blog Challenge, Day 8: Sexiest aka Most Vacuous Woman Alive

I know that Hollywood and Broadway like to periodically have big parties and hand out awards in a sort of self-aggrandizing way, but I had forgotten that magazines occasionally attempt to ride the coattails of Hollywood fame by publishing lists of the “Sexiest” or “Hottest” celebrities. It’s sort of small and reminds me of high school and those who obsessed over the “Most Popular” or “Best Dressed” titles.

I don’t remember who won what recognition back in my school days. I honestly don’t care. I’m positive I won’t remember who won what title in whichever magazine even as soon as next week, but I bring it up because a news link popped up in my timeline today. “Mila Kunis named Esquire’s sexiest woman alive”. Normally I wouldn’t care that Esquire chose a terrier for this .. *ahem*… honor, except that Mila feels her esteemed ranking in the social order gives credence to her hair-brained political views.

In case you missed the riveting interview, Ms Kunis said,  “The way that Republicans attack women is so offensive to me,” Kunis exclaims. “And the way they talk about religion is offensive. I may not be a practicing Jew, but why we gotta talk about Jesus all the time? And it’s baffling to me how a poor person in Georgia can say, ‘I’m a Republican.’ Why?”

First of all, I’ve never been attacked by a Republican. I would ask Mila to prove such a claim, except that she wouldn’t deign to speak to me and if she did she’d probably regurgitate some tripe about Rush Limbaugh. I’d still have to wonder if Mila is offended by Islamists who attack women, or communists who attack women, or if she’s only concerned by this one political party in the U.S. that has this one guy who used this one word this one time to describe this one woman who was lobbying to have her birth control subsidized.

Then there’s the whole issue with her intolerance over our mentioning Jesus. Yes, Jesus. We all know how offensive He can be with His parables about good Samaritans and his sermons about loving thy neighbor. Then there was the whole issue of Jesus dying to pay the price for our sins… I had thought leftists were all about other people paying their way, but apparently that only applies to the temporal and not the eternal. Mila admits she isn’t a practicing Jew, as if it’s okay to claim a religion, but just don’t go about talking about it. As if religion were a pair of shoes that you put on just when you need it or feel like wearing it and then should be left in a closet until it’s time to trot it out again. Well excuse us, Mila, for having convictions.

Finally there is her utter befuddlement over the existence of poor Republicans. Oh, dear. Well the cat’s out of the bag now! It’s true, Ms Kunis. We don’t all own banks. If she bothered to study an issue at all, she’d know that there are plenty of poor and middle class people who desire to be left alone from government overreach. We want to be free to make our own fortunes! We’d like to be taxed less, have our attempts at self-employment regulated less, and be left with more of our paychecks that we worked for! Self-reliance, Ms Kunis. Look it up.

Of course I’m not shocked to know that a vapid Hollywood starlet who says words in front of a camera and takes her clothes off for fame and money has some poorly thought out political views. I’m even less shocked that those views lean far left. What’s truly puzzling is that of all the women in the world, Mila Kunis was chosen as the sexiest….

But then again, she is a cute little thing.

Leave a Reply

