A Message From the Rebel Base

Well, it’s May 4th today, and all day in true nerd fashion I’ve been saying

May the Fourth be with you!

Watching Star Wars as a kid was one of my favorite things to do, and one of the many things I could share with my bff- my brother. He wasn’t really into Sleeping Beauty or Grease (more of my favorites), but we could share Star Wars and then later Indiana Jones. It was fun, and exciting, and inspired our imaginations. You may think playing with Barbies is dull and boring, but add some booby traps and suddenly Ken is in the Temple of Doom, and Barbie’s life is in mortal danger! Those were good times.

One thing I really miss about my childhood is that in the books, movies, and television shows, there was a good guy and a bad guy. Unless you were watching My Little Pony, the bad guys were really bad, too. There was never any question of Hordak being ‘misunderstood’. He was evil, enslaving the population of Etheria, and She-Ra and the Rebellion were definitely in the right to resist him and bring the hurt to him and his Evil Horde.

I miss those shows that placed a high value on individual freedom: Star Wars, Transformers, She-Ra: Princess of Power. We had a President (Reagan) who inspired us and a fundamental idea that freedom was a precious gift.

Which brings me to my question… What happened? When did we become so complacent with our cozy little lives that we willingly began handing over freedoms to a government entity? Are we really that scared? Is it worth it to live in a cage just to be safe?

I’m a proud American and fully believe we live in the greatest country in the world. That’s why I find it so bothersome that we have stopped believing that we are capable of looking after ourselves and must rely on our government to provide everything for us. Perhaps the most disturbing trend I see in people around me is that they don’t even consider whether or not they can accomplish something on their own, they just immediately question whether there is a ‘program’ or ‘benefit’ that covers the current need. Really? Was your spirit crushed or did it just fall asleep? Have you no confidence in yourself?

So today as I enjoy the classic tale of a ragtag group of interstellar, freedom-fighting Rebels, I remember another group of ragtag militia from around the year 1776 and their dream of freedom and self-determination. Would they be happy with the way we have preserved the heritage of freedom that they fought so hard for, and won against all odds? Or would they shake their heads in disgust at us, because of our apathy? If we don’t actively preserve our freedom ourselves, we have no one to blame for its loss but… ourselves.

And with that thought I leave you with some quotes from Thomas Jefferson:

That government is best which governs the least, because its people discipline themselves.

I hold it, that a little rebellion now and then is a good thing, and as necessary in the political world as storms in the physical.

I think we have more machinery of government than is necessary, too many parasites living on the labor of the industrious.

So keep up the good fight, fellow patriots. And May the Fourth be with you 😉

5 thoughts on “A Message From the Rebel Base

  1. Gregory says:

    Keep the light…keep the faith…!

  2. manofaiki says:

    May The Fourth Be With You, but remember, be prepared, for tomorrow is The Revenge of the Fifth!

  3. Texanne says:

    Well said! You have a new fan. :)TX

Leave a Reply

